Andhra Pradesh: three-capital bill gets Governor’s nod

AP Decentralisation Bill, also known as the three-capital bill gets an assent from the Governor of Andhra Pradesh.

By Sagar Thamminedi, July 31, 2020 22:29 IST

In the latest development on Friday, The Governor of Andhra Pradesh Biswabhusan Harichandan gave his assent to the three-capital bill. The state government has passed this bill for the second time.
Following the governor’s assent, these two bills (AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions and the repeal of CRDA Act, 2014) will now become a law. The next step is to clear all the legal hurdles for Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan’s plan of three capital to become a reality. As this is being heard by the AP High Court.
Before this, the two bills were referred to select committees for wider examinations by the council chairman. As the committees were not constituted for all these months. This prompted the government to send the bills for governor’s assent under Article 197 (1) and (2) of the Constitution. Following this, the governor Biswabhusan Harichandan gave his assent to new legislation after extensive legal consultations.
The AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill, 2020, states that Visakhapatnam, Amaravati, and Kurnool will be the administrative, legislative, and judicial capital of the Andhra Pradesh state respectively.
The three-capital bill divides the state into different zones. Each zone governed by a Board comprising the CM, a Vice-Chairman, a minimum of one MP, two MLAs, and 4 other members nominated by the state government. Besides, a full-time Secretary of the Board equalling the rank of a Principal Secretary and above will be assigned.

Latest News

view all